Skip to content

Split Pea and Ham Soup (and a lot of Carrots)

March 1, 2010

I usually only make this soup once a year as I cannot justify heating up the kitchen that often but I am always prepared when a cold, rainy day stops by my house.  It is high on my list of soups to make on the few cold days we have here.  I make it the night before it is to be served so it is my home’s source of heat for an evening while it pretty much makes itself.  This is a very thick, creamy, hearty soup that can be a meal in itself.  Plenty of ham and a lot of carrots.  My mother was the biggest lover of carrots I have ever met so I pretty much think carrots go with a lot of things.  She and I used to have this big “discussion” on how carrots were supposed to be cut.  My mother lived until she was 89 years old and even in her 89th year she was still telling me how to cut the carrots.  Obviously I cannot listen.  Yes, she wanted them perfectly sized and cut on the bias.  I always responded with “I am NOT having the carrot cutting conversation” and kept cutting.  I do believe she was right for many reasons, but when I cooked for her after a full day of work, taking care of my children and more it was all about getting things cooking and dinner on the table.  I did hear enough to remember she worked in Boston for a wealthy family as a teenager after school to help prepare the food for dinner and polish silver, copper, etc..  The good part was she loved to clean all “my” silver, copper and brass.  I have always found metal cleaning tedious and tiresome, she only saw the beauty of the metals.   The evening I was going to make this soup I stopped by a fruit and vegetable market in my neighborhood and found “rainbow” carrots.  Okay, they are going in the soup.  I did not find any flavor or color change in the soup, but the difference of color was fun and interesting.  I will buy those carrots again and do them separately to find if they taste different.  If nothing else, they will look beautiful as a side dish. 

Split Pea and Ham Soup (and a lot of Carrots) 

Ingredients

  • 2 T. Oil
  • 2 T. Butter
  • 2 Cloves Garlic (finely chopped)
  • 1 Onion (finely chopped)
  •  1 C. Green Split Peas
  • 3/4 lb. Ham (Leftover Ham Steak)
  • 6-8 Medium Sized Carrots
  • 3 C. Chicken Broth or Water
  • 1-2 C. Half and Half
  • 2 T. Chopped Parsley
  • Salt and Pepper
  •  

 Preparation

  1. Melt butter and oil together and add the garlic and onion and sweat for about 4-5 minutes.
  2. Add the split peas and the chicken broth or water and bring to a boil.  Put on simmer for approximately 2 hours.  Stir occasionally.
  3. While split peas are simmering, cut the carrots (the way you cut them) and blanche.
  4. Cut the ham in bite size pieces (from the leftover ham steak).
  5. Add the carrots and ham to the soup and heat thoroughly.

This can be done up to this point the night before.

When Ready to Serve:

  1. Heat soup slowly.
  2. Add 1-2 cups Half and Half  and heat thoroughly.
  3. Salt and Pepper to taste.
  4. Plate and add chopped parsley.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. emilyflippinmaruna permalink
    January 19, 2011 23:11

    This looks great! http://wp.me/pkcUM-Av

  2. March 1, 2010 22:46

    It seems like split pea soup is all around me. Everytime I turn a corner, somone is making split pea soup. I’ve never made it but seems as if maybe I should. Yours looks excellent! Love the rainbow carrots!

Trackbacks

  1. Inspiration Wednesday 2 – Soup Ideas « The Handmade Experiment
  2. Celebrate National Soup Month in January « "Deja Vu" Cook

Leave a comment