Skip to content

Harvard Brownies “Rich and Chewy”

February 26, 2010

Harvard Brownies

There is a little bit of excitement in the neighborhood!  A moving truck, new faces and new smiles.  Someone new is moving in and I am so happy that I am going back to the old tradition of bringing them something to eat.  I actually never left the old tradition but most people I know thought I was nuts (like COCO-nuts, not like the walnuts in the brownies) and the new neighbors in the past looked at me blankly as it had never happened to them before.  So, I stopped for many reasons, but on my street and the one behind me four houses have been empty for quite a while.  Some of them I knew well and others just a “hello” in passing.  I know the stories of some of them and probably the other stories are similar.  It’s been quiet in the neighborhood without them and sometimes a bit scary as my immediate action regarding a potential problem is to speak with the neighbors and see what they know.  Hopefully this first sale of a home in the neighborhood in a long time is the little beginning of some new prosperity for everyone.  I make quite a few different brownie recipes and like most of them but this one from my childhood is just simple, rich and chewy (all good words).  When I moved to New York many years ago I only brought one cookbook, The Fannie Farmer Cookbook and now I am always looking for small bookcases to fit anywhere in my home.  I still buy this book  for gifts for new cooks.  Mine was a gift from my mother as she used it for many basic recipes and so have I through the years.  I should really replace mine as it really shows the use it has endured, but that is rather endearing to me.  The only thing I added to this recipe was the sprinkling of the confectioners sugar on top of the brownies.  It seemed to make them look a little bit more like a celebration for the neighbors!

Harvard Brownies

Ingredients

  • 2 oz. Unsweetened Chocolate
  • 1/4 C. Butter
  • 1 C. Sugar
  • 2 Eggs (unbeaten)
  • 1/4 Salt
  • 1/2 C. Flour
  • 1/2 C. Walnuts (chopped)
  • 1 t. Vanilla
  • 2 oz. Confectioners Sugar (save for sprinkling on top of brownies)

Preparation

  1. Butter a shallow pan 8″x8″ and line the pan with wax paper cut to fit.  Butter the wax paper and preheat the oven to 300 degrees.
  2. Put the chocolate and butter in the top of a double boiler and stir over hot water until chocolate is melted.
  3. Remove from heat and stir in the rest of the ingredients.
  4. Pour into pan and spread evenly.
  5. Bake 30-35 minutes.  Turn upside down on a cake rack and cool.  Peel off the paper and cut 16 squares.

Stack on a paper plate (too many plates and serving dishes have never returned to my house), sprinkle with confectioners sugar and take to a neighbor, co-worker, a friend or someone in your family…..

From The Fannie Farmer Cookbook (Eleventh Edition)

My Desert

I did not give them all the brownies and they will never know unless you tell them!

Added Toppings

  • Vanilla Ice Cream
  • “Real” Chocolate Jimmies

P1180122

Frosted Harvard Brownies

Served for “Tea Time”

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 02:57

    I’ll never tell you didnt give them all the brownies. I mean, really, you are a food blogger. You have to taste them for the sake of your readers. That’s a perfectly excusable, unselfish reason. And I thank you! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Super Bowl Sunday Menu “2011″ « "Deja Vu" Cook

Leave a Reply

