Skip to content

Bacon, Cheese, Hot Dog and Bean Casserole

May 18, 2010

It is “that” time of year again for plenty of picnics, cookouts, beach parties and “bring your own casserole” friendly dinners.  I don’t know why it starts now in Florida when it should be from October to April here.  Sometimes I try to participate but usually I stay in A/C from Easter to Thanksgiving.  I rarely even grill outside in the summer months and actually just cleaned, covered and put in an out of the way location ready for use in the event of a hurricane.  However I did go to a friend’s home the other night and they requested that I bring this casserole.  They also told me to leave out the onions and green peppers as they had quite a few children attending.  (Okay, who am I?  Chief Child Casserole Maker?)   I actually don’t make too many casseroles, neither did my mother, nor her mother and my children never cared for them too much either.  And they did not like mashed potatoes, so who are they?How does that happen with all the Irish background in my family and any kind of potato in any form is a welcome sight.   I even resorted to instant mashed potatoes for a few years, not too bad actually when that is all you are craving.  I did learn to make a few casseroles when I was really broke and still do a few times a year as some were pretty tasty (with some added goodies of course).   I would have preferred to make something else but when they told me everyone was bringing child-friendly dishes as they were having a raw bar set up and a barbeque chef who would be doing shrimp, chicken, ribs, corn and other grilled vegetables……oh, yes I will be there.  It was a fun night, the food was spectacular with plenty of help at the raw bar opening clams and oysters and the barbeque chef really knew how to cook all the meats and vegetables.   The children all enjoyed the typical casseroles from friends and family and a few of them ventured to the raw bar with great enthusiasm.  I hope they invite me again, soon!

Hot Dogs and Baked Bean Casserole

Ingredients

  • 8 Hot Dogs
  • 2 Cans Baked Beans (Bush’s “Bold & Spicy” 28 oz.)
  • 1/2 lb. Bacon
  • 4 T. Barbeque Sauce (Kraft “Original”)
  • 2 T. Dijon Mustard
  • 1 Cup Shredded Cheese (Cheddar, Monterey Jack, and Muenster) /Any Cheese in the House)
  • Freshly Ground Pepper
  • ** For the Green Pepper and Onion, see below

Preparation

  1. Cut hot dogs in half and slice lengthwise
  2. Saute the hot dogs until browned on both sides
  3. Cook bacon and cut into bite size pieces
  4. Mix beans, barbeque sauce and mustard (add in green peppers and onion, optional)
  5. Add freshly ground pepper as desired
  6. Layer the beans and hot dogs
  7. Top with the bacon and cheese

 

 Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 30 minutes

If you would like to add the green pepper and onion, please follow the directions below:

Take one green pepper and one onion (chopped) and saute in 1 T. oil.  Add to the bean mixture prior to layering the casserole (optional).

(Serves 6-8)

Leave a comment