Skip to content

Mushroom and Spinach Fettuccine

May 12, 2014

Growing up we never had meat on Fridays.  You know, Catholic.  That was fine with me since I loved fish, I actually would prefer fish 4-5 times a week if I had the money.  So now I take advantage of #Meatless Monday and it is great on the budget.  I have been trying to eat more vegetables anyway so it works well for me.  Variety is the spice of life.  Pasta is happy to meet so many vegetables and the combination of mushrooms and spinach is very high on my list of favorites.  If you can make a basic “Alfredo” recipe then you probably can make at least 100 different meals today.

P1200250

Mushroom and Spinach Fettuccine

Ingredients

  • 1/2 C. plus 3 T.  Unsalted Butter
  • 1 lb. Mushrooms (sliced)
  • 1 Pkg. Spinach
  • 3/4 C. Heavy Cream
  • 1/2 C. plus Parmesan Cheese (grated)
  • 1 lb. Fettuccine
  • Additional Parmesan Cheese (for garnish)
  • Parsley (for garnish) optional

Preparation

  1. Saute the mushrooms in 2 T. butter for about fifteen minutes; remove from pan and set aside
  2. Add another T. of butter and saute the spinach for about 5 minutes; toss a few times; remove and set aside
  3. In the same pan melt the butter and add the cream and heat slowly
  4. Add the Parmesan Cheese and combine completely
  5. Bring water to a boil and cook pasta al dente
  6. Strain the pasta (reserve a small amount of water for tossing)
  7. Add pasta to the cream mixture and toss, heat slowly
  8. Plate the pasta on a warmed plate and add parsley garnish
  9. Pass additional cheese at the table

P1200174

P1200230

P1200232

P1200237

P1200243

Serves: 4

Recipe adapted from: Fettuccini Alfredo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2014 11:31

    Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to take a look.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking
    and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Terrific blog and excellent design.

Leave a Reply

