Skip to content

Purple Cow Ice Cream Soda

July 20, 2013

I did celebrate National Ice Cream Soda Day (June 20) today and these are not just for children, in fact they make a great summer dessert.  I was so pleased with myself when I was 10 years old and was allowed to stay in Boston with my aunts and uncles for the first time by myself.  No parents, no older brothers and no new baby sister (and an unknown baby sister a few years later).  They took me to their places of work, fancy restaurants in Boston (each one had their favorites) and of course many trips to “Brigham’s”.  Yes, my brothers did call me a queen, but I felt like a Princess.  But every time I make this special drink I think of the first time I had this beverage.  We had come home from shopping (they bought me beautiful things) on a hot summer day and they told me to sit outside and wait for a special treat and a few moments later the first “Purple Cow Ice Cream Soda” arrived at my table.  It is still just as delicious in flavor and memory.

P1180463

Purple Cow Ice Cream Soda

Ingredients

  • Purple Grape Juice
  • Ginger Ale
  • Vanilla Ice Cream
  • Ice Cubes or Frozen Grape Juice Ice Cubes

Preparation

  1. Freeze grape juice (4-5 hours in advance) if using
  2. Chill grape juice and ginger ale
  3. Put ice cubes in a tall glass
  4. Add 1/2 C. grape juice
  5. Add 1 scoop ice cream
  6. Add 1/2 C.  ginger ale and top with 1 more scoop of ice cream
  7. Serve immediately

P1180410

Measurements are approximate

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2013 20:33

    If it works for more than 50 years, It is good.

  2. July 21, 2013 17:12

    What a cool (no pun intended!) idea.:)

Leave a Reply

