Skip to content

Three Cheese Tortellini with Mushrooms and Peas

April 17, 2012

It’s Tuesday but there seems to be a ‘Social Media’ thing going on for “Meatless Monday” yet that does not matter too much to me, as I make what I want when I want.  As a child growing up within the restraints of the Catholic Church we always had fish on Friday, and some other days as well but never many meals without meat or fish unless due to financial issues.  My wonderful father was a meat or fish and potato man and that was just the way it was (we would find out years later why).  I happen to love vegetables of all kinds so it is easy in some ways, but certain days I just do not feel I have had dinner without that special portion or course of meat and/or fish.  When I was pregnant with my two children I had “dreams and nightmares” of what I would feed them because I had lived in an environment of travelling most days of the week for many years and restaurants and room service were my sustenance.  One of my dreams was my soon to be born son eating a big steak sitting in his high chair with a steak knife and cutting it himself, I did give him a whole lobster on his 1st Birthday, (he did fine and maybe one day I will find the photo).  The learning process went on and for me I could only cook what I wanted to eat (there was no room service in my home), so it wasn’t an experiment it was just what I could do.  When my beautiful daughter was born things were easier on the food front for me.  Just put the chopped up vegetables on the tray table while I made the rest of the dinner, it worked for her brother and so it did for her.  She asked for “Duck” for her 3rd Birthday.

Three Cheese Tortellini with Mushroom and Peas

Ingredients

  • 2 Pkg. Three Cheese Tortellini (I use Buitoni)
  • 4 T. Fresh Parsley (chopped)
  • 2 T. Olive Oil
  • 2 T. Unsalted Butter
  • 1 lb. Button Mushrooms (or any other kind, or a combination)
  • 1 1/2 C. Dry White Wine
  • 1 C. Heavy Cream
  • 1/4 t. Nutmeg (grated)
  • Salt and Freshly Ground Pepper (to taste)
  • 1/2 C. Parmesan Cheese (grated)

Preparation

  1. Saute garlic,  in the olive oil for a few minutes, then add the mushrooms, cooking approximately 10 minutes stirring occasionally
  2. Add the wine and simmer until is has evaporated
  3. Add the whipping cream, nutmeg and pepper
  4. Taste for seasonings, add salt and pepper if necessary and simmer for about 15 minutes
  5. Cook the pasta until al dente, drain and add to the mushroom and pea mixture
  6. Add the Parmesan cheese and toss well
  7. Plate and add additional Parmesan

(Serves 4)

Recipe from Rudolf Valentino Popolo (famous to me/requested by two Popes to fly)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2012 20:18

    You really work your magic with mushrooms!

    • April 19, 2012 00:25

      I love mushrooms so much and so many things to do with them/stay tuned for some summer mushroom treats/Thank you for all of your input.

  2. April 17, 2012 21:15

    I really like your recipe.I made pasta and peas as well…they are wonderful spring dish.

Trackbacks

  1. Three Cheese Tortellini with Mushrooms and Peas | Life-Health-Happiness

Leave a Reply

