Skip to content

Veal Scallopini with Tomato Caper Sauce

December 16, 2011

 

“The Bomb”

I actually had to make this meal twice to get all the photos, and no I was not that hungry.  I was taking care of a beautiful Yellow Labrador (with an amazing calmness and zen) named, “Blondie” (short for the blonde bombshell – (well if you are forwarned you should take notice).  It was my first time taking care of her and she was wonderful, well, she could open cabinets, did like to empty trash bins, loved to unroll toilet paper (everywhere), take every tissue out of every tissue box in the house, carry every toy (many, many) outside, but most importantly would jump off the ground with all fours about 3-4 ft. when I got up in the morning.  I admit, I take about an hour to come to in the am/but that was just frightening and spectacular at the same time.  But as the day goes by and all the toilet paper and tissues have been swept away and removed you (I mean in my mind) forget what she is totally capable of and yet looks like she has not moved. (settled in a spot, half asleep and eyes half-opened  ?!?!!).  So this night I made this luscious and flavorful veal dish (and no, I do not buy veal that often) up to the point where I had put the Scallopini in the sauce (heat off) as I needed to walk across the street to get some milk for the morning, so I was gone about 5-7 minute, maximum.  No alert, everything looked fine when I came in, put the milk away and went to turn on the beautiful veal—-oh—-no veal in the pan, just the sauce, I looked at the floor, no veal, no sauce, no splatters. ALL the veal was gone, all!  Enough to serve four people, just the lonely sauce left in the pan.  This was a moment (I am sure you have had a few) that your eyes do not connect to your brain, I did not comprehend for quite a few moments as I stood there in the kitchen looking totally stupid. She had no remorse and she was jumping 4′ above the ground (my dog was trying to learn how to jump off the floor with all fours right behind her) again happy to see me.  I realize now “The Bomb” licked up any splatters (she’s devious-“dejavucook ” will never know)

Veal Scallopini with Tomato Caper Sauce

Ingredients

For the Sauce

  • 2 C. Simple Tomato Sauce (Marinara) (purchase or use your own) *
  • 3 Anchovies (chopped)
  • 1 T. Capers
  • 1 T. Butter (maybe more/thickness of sauce)

*  I usually have Marinara already made/otherwise make it the day before

For the Veal

  • 1 lb. Veal Scallopini (8)
  • 2 T. Unsalted Butter
  • 2 T. Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Freshly Ground Pepper
  • 1/2 C. Flour (use Wondra for a lighter coating)
  • Fresh Parsley (for garnish)

Preparation

  1. In a large pan add the tomato sauce and anchovies; bring to a boil; reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 5-8 minutes (until thickened)
  2. Stir in the capers and butter; set aside and keep warm
  3. Heat the oil and butter in a large pan on high
  4. Salt and pepper the scallopini and dip in flour/shake off excess
  5. Cook the scallopini (in batches if necessary) about 30 seconds on each side (will be slightly browned); remove to a platter
  6. Add to the sauce and warm thoroughly; serve on warmed plates and garnish with fresh parsley

 (Shown here with (Zucchini and Onions) or serve with some pasta (I now prefer both)

(Serves 4)

Recipe adapted from www.vealrecipes.com

Served here with Zucchini and Onions

“The Bomb and Isabella” (Isabella, another welcome friend)

And where is “Roxy”?

And soon I will have photographs of  “Lulu”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2011 15:23

    Oh no, normally that would make me chuckle and say ha, dogs! But I’m mortified, I mean we’re talking veal. This is a gorgeous recipe.

    • December 18, 2011 18:29

      Thank you so much and it is delicious. I must say I was not mad because it was so incredulous that ‘the Bomb” was so neat about it.

Leave a Reply

