Skip to content

Peach Salsa Glazed Butterflied Chicken

September 13, 2011

I truly love meats, poultry or fish with a fruit combination and when I recently returned from a relaxing vacation in Watauga Lake, TN with a bushel of South Carolina peaches my mind thought of a delightful butterflied chicken.  I had made a beautiful Peach Upside Down Cake and some Refrigerator Peach Jam and I still had “PEACHES”.  The word “peach” brings back so many memories for so many reasons but the most prevalent one is my father asking my mother “Hey Betty, do you want a peach?”  This question brought them both to tears laughing every time it was said by my father and of course she said “yes”.  To this day I have no idea what they were talking about, but I do know they were referring to a long ago event in Boston when my father had bought a convertible and they were on a weekend road trip to the Cape.  They would never tell me anymore as they both were convulsed in laughter, or was that just hiding a special secret.?   But I am sure they would hardly have been able to eat this dinner with their looks, jeers and laughter.  I miss them both and all the fun they created in my life.

Peach Salsa Glazed Butterflied Chicken

Ingredients

  • 1 Whole Chicken (Butterflied)
  • 3 Lg. Peaches (peeled, pitted and chopped)
  • 1 T. Garlic (chopped)
  • 3 Bell Peppers (Red, Yellow and Green Pepper/roughly chopped)
  • 1 Medium Red Onion (roughly chopped)
  • 3 T. Olive Oil
  • 2 T. Soy Sauce
  • 1 (or more) T. Dijon Mustard
  • 1 Sm. Jalapeno (finely chopped
  • Kosher Salt
  • Freshly Ground Pepper

Preparation

  1. In a large bowl add the peaches, garlic, bell peppers, red onion, olive oil, soy sauce, Dijon Mustard, jalapeno, salt and pepper and combine thoroughly; let stand for about 20-30 minutes, stir a few times
  2. Put butterflied chicken in a baking pan and cover with the peach salsa; cover and chill for 1-2- hours minimum
  3. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes (baste a couple of times with the salsa)
  4. Remove from oven and let rest about 15 minutes
  5. Serve with rice

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2011 23:03

    The colors and flavors are really hitting a chord with me!

    • September 15, 2011 18:57

      This I must say is so delicious and I really could care less about chicken. Needs these amazing flavors. Thanks for stopping by so often.

  2. September 13, 2011 20:48

    You really are making the most of those peaches. This looks delicious.

    • September 13, 2011 20:50

      Wouldn’t you? I have 2 more to post – frugal, delicious, and in love with peaches. Did I mention that last Spring I planted a Florida Peach Tree? Info on the Peach Sorbet recipe to come soon!

Trackbacks

  1. Peaches Galore « "Deja Vu" Cook

Leave a Reply

