Skip to content

Torte di Noci

May 30, 2011

After many years of flying to Italy and eating many “Torte di Noci” at restaurants and friends homes I finally wrote down one of the recipes.  Each one is different (even when I make the same recipe) but they never fail to amaze me.  The simplicity and richness will make you happy each time.  I make it with different nuts, liquor and toppings and I think this is the one I make most frequently.

 

Torte di Noci

Ingredients

  • 8 T. Unsalted Butter (1 stick)
  • 2/3 C. Granulated Sugar
  • 1 Lg. Egg
  • 2 T. Amaretto
  • Zest of 1 Lemon
  • 1 1/2 t. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 lb. Walnuts (chopped fine in blender-Do Not Reduce To Paste)
  • 1 C. All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/4 C. Walnuts (chopped, garnish/optional)
  • Whole Almonds (for garnish/optional)

Preparation

  1. Cream butter and sugar, add egg, Amaretto, lemon zest, baking powder and mix thoroughly
  2. Add walnuts and combine; add sifted flour (batter will be fairly dense)
  3. Spread evenly in a 9″ cake pan and bake at 350 degrees for approx. 50-60 min.; cool slightly; turn out on serving plate
  4. Decorate with crushed walnuts and whole almonds
  5. Optional Garnish – Vanilla Ice Cream or Whipped Cream

(Serves 8)

Recipe from Linda Weingarten (TWA Purser and dear friend)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 18:14

    I love Ameretto too and this looks like a lovely little cake!

    • June 2, 2011 16:52

      I am on a mission this summer with one layer cakes (less waste). This one is a favorite for years and never disappoints me whatever type of nuts I use.

  2. June 1, 2011 12:57

    Mix it up is right, enjoy!

  3. May 30, 2011 20:59

    I’m a huge fan of Amaretto, but not walnuts. So I’m glad you said this is easy to mix up. It’s simply wonderful looking!

Trackbacks

  1. Italian Garden Buffet « "Deja Vu" Cook

Leave a Reply

