Skip to content

Paris Onion Soup

May 17, 2011

Onion soup, definitely from Paris.  How did this name come about?  I have no idea, but I always make this soup when it will be a course for a dinner party, not heavy, a great introduction to the meal and the invitation to celebrate  many more great things to come.  Paris is known for it’s onion soups and as you travel around to different parts of the city you will be seeing many variations, and I love them all.   If you are making an onion soup for a main course try Soupe a l’Oignon Gratinee which will satisfy all your diners as a full meal.

 

Paris Onion Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. Onions (sliced
  • 1 Garlic Clove (minced)
  • 4 T. Unsalted Butter
  • Pinch of Sugar
  • 3 Pints Beef Stock (I used Chicken Stock, a bit lighter)
  • 1 C. 2 oz. Dry White Wine
  • Salt
  • Freshly Ground Pepper
  • 1 Baguette
  • 1/2 C. Gruyere Chesse (grated)
  • Handful of Fresh Chives (snipped)

 

Preparation

  1. Saute gently and slowly the onions, garlic and a pinch of sugar in the butter (until onions begin to turn brown)
  2. Add the stock, wine, salt and pepper to taste; simmer on low for about 1 hour
  3. Broil slices of baguette
  4. Ladle soup into warmed bowls and top with a slice of baguette and a sprinkling of cheese
  5. Add some chives on top
  6. Serve addl. baguette slices at the table

(Serves 6)

Recipe from www.onionsoup.org

T 

Soupe a l’Oignon Gratinee

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 10:08

    I have to leave this blog ASAP, it’s making me super hungry. I’ll come back I swear. This is just wonderful looking!

    • May 20, 2011 16:54

      Thanks for visiting, I love your blog too. I make lots of different onion soups, I think a creamy onion is in my near future.

Trackbacks

  1. Onion Soups to Cherish « "Deja Vu" Cook

Leave a Reply

