Skip to content

Wild Mushroom Agnolotti with Sage Cream Sauce

April 22, 2011

Celebrate Earth Day and eat mushrooms.  I did not make the pasta, in fact I have never made pasta.  But I do buy Buitoni’s pasta and it is extremely good (and I have spent many years in Italy, therefore I consider that a recommendation).  So spend the time making a luscious “sauce to die for” and enjoy your dinner in moments.  I have beautiful fresh sage in my garden and it makes a rich and fragrant sauce with cream and butter.  This combination is also nice for a pasta course or as a side dish. “Mangia”.  Buitoni does not pay me and I do not speak for them, but I recently entered a contest they had for a trip for two to Italy, which I did not win I am sad to say, but they sent me a beautiful calendar that I will enjoy all year.  Thanks @Buitoni and follow them if you enjoy Twitter, maybe you will be the next winner of a “Trip to Italy”.

Wild Mushroom Agnolotti with Sage Cream Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1 (15 oz.) Pkg. Wild Mushroom Agnolotti (Buitoni)

Sauce Ingredients

  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 2 T. Unsalted Butter
  • 1/2 Tbsp. pasta water
  • 6 Fresh Sage Leaves (chopped)
  • 1/3 C. Shallots (sliced)
  • 1/2 C. Dry White Wine
  • 2/3 C. Heavy Cream
  • Salt
  • Freshly Ground Pepper
  • 1/2 C. Parmesan Cheese (shredded)
  • Sautéed Fresh Sage Leaves (for garnish) (1 T. Butter)/optional
  • Addl. Parmesan Cheese (for garnish/optional)

Preparation

  1. Boil the water and cook the pasta according to the package directions (Drain)
  2. While pasta is cooking saute the shallots in butter and oil over medium heat until tender; add the sage and cook addl. minute
  3. Add the wine and cream; increase the heat and boil; sauce will reduce (about 5 minute)
  4. Add the cheese and the pasta to the sauce and thoroughly combine; season to taste with salt and pepper
  5. Simultaneously saute the addl. fresh sage leaves in the butter for the garnish
  6. Plate the pasta on warmed plates and garnish with sage leaves and cheese

(Serves 4; Serves 6 for Appetizer or Side)

Recipe for the sauce adapted from www.epicurious.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

