Skip to content

Mocha Ice Cream

April 14, 2011

Well it finally happened.  I am the proud owner of an ice cream maker.  Why it took me so long is up for grabs, but mainly because I eat ice cream almost every day and how organized do I have to be to make my own was always my big question.  So here is the first, I was craving a really deep and rich mocha and this is it.  There are plenty of ice cream stories from my home but the best goes back quite a few years, yet still makes me laugh.  It was about 10 pm and my daughter. son and I were all prepared for a big hurricane scheduled to bear down on us in the middle of the night and I wanted ice cream.  So off we go to the store in terrible wind and rain, Mark runs into the store with the cash and returns promptly with my favorite vanilla and he is laughing so hard trying to tell me what the cashier had told him about my ice cream.  He then proceeds to tell me the cashier had asked him “Why are you out in this storm?” Mark tells her that his mother wanted some ice cream and she responds, “Is she pregnant?”  And of course he said he was laughing so hard he could hardly speak but he responded, “No, she just has to have ice cream every night.  Well the three of us drove home practically being blown off the road and laughing all the way as the silly (and concerned) cashier did not know I was close to 50 years old at that time.  We loved that ice cream treat more than anything that night and the good news was we had no serious hurricane damage either.

 Mocha Ice Cream

Ingredients

  • 8 oz. Semi-Sweet Chocolate (chopped coarsely)
  • 1/4 C. Strong Brewed Coffee
  • 2 C. Whipping Cream
  • 1 C. Half & Half
  • 3/4 C. Sugar (divided)
  • 3 T. Instant Coffee Granules
  • 4 Egg Yolks

Preparation

  1. Microwave chocolate until melted; stirring twice; stir in brewed coffee and set aside
  2. Over medium to high heat bring cream, half & Half, 1/2 C. Sugar and coffee granules to a boil; stirring until sugar and coffee dissolve
  3. Beat egg yolk and 1/2 C. sugar on high-speed with electric mixer until thick and pale; gradually pour hot cream mixture into yolk mixture on low-speed; return to pan
  4. Cook over medium; stirring constantly (6-8 minutes until mixture thickens; remove from heat and stir in chocolate mixture; cover and chill 2 hours
  5. Pour into ice cream maker and proceed with manufacturer’s directions
  6. When complete; serve or put in freezer storage container for future use

(Serves 6)

Recipe from www.myrecipes.com

PS/I have a hard time photographing ice cream here in Florida.  I am sure it is difficult all around the world but the heat and humidity challenge me each time.  Now with my new magic machine I will be practicing more.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2011 02:18

    Can you post easy ice cream recipes without ice cream maker too? I don’t have one 😦
    Thank you!

    • August 4, 2011 20:24

      There are a few on the site/and I just bought an ice cream maker/will remember to put that on the recipe for reference. You are right and I thank you for your comments. Had a broken keyboard/sorry for the delay.

  2. April 15, 2011 00:07

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

Trackbacks

  1. Celebrate National Ice Cream Month in July « "Deja Vu" Cook

Leave a Reply

