Skip to content

Adrienne’s Birthday Dinner “2011”

March 19, 2011
tags:

Hard to believe it is twenty five years ago.  It is always a “bittersweet” day celebrating a daughter’s birthday when the “birthday girl” is not around, but there is always a happy celebration for her special day each year.  Twenty five years ago she was born early in the evening after I excused myself from the dinner table requesting a ride to South Miami Hospital.  Early that morning there had been signs that this 19th day of March would be her “day”, but I had lots to do.  My mother was staying with us in Coral Gables in anticipation of the new baby and right after breakfast I told her to get dressed as we were going to “Dadeland” (a shopping mall in South Miami) to bring Mark (almost three years old at that time) to see the Easter Bunny.  Yes, you can imagine the look on my mother’s face, but she did get ready.  We hurried to “Dadeland” but the Easter Bunny must have been on a different schedule as he showed up 2 hours late.  Inside I was frantic, but remained calm, Mark would see the Easter Bunny, and so he did (this bunny was way hung over, guess he had too many Easter eggs the night before).  But the best part came when I told my mother we have to go home, Now, no shopping.  She was not hysterical but very angry that I could drag her to a mall when I was in labor, especially since she did not know where the hospital was, did not know where my home was and did not drive.  I still laugh to this day.  The beautiful girl arrived and we celebrate Adrienne today.

Adrienne’s Birthday Dinner “2011”

March 19, 1986

 “Menu”

Parmesan and Swiss Crostini

Shrimp Cocktail 

Creamy Roast Sweet Potato Soup

Spinach and Juliette Tomato Salad

Julia Child’s Duck a  l’Orange

 Green Beans with Garlic and Shallots

Wild Rice with Cranberries and Walnuts

Lemon Jelly Roll

Parmesan and Swiss Crostini

Shrimp Cocktail 

Creamy Roast Sweet Potato Soup

Spinach and Juliette Tomato Salad

Julia Child’s Duck a  l’Orange

 Green Beans with Garlic and Shallots

Wild Rice with Cranberries and Walnuts

Lemon Jelly Roll

HAPPY BIRTHDAY ADRIENNE!!!

    love to you always

6 Comments leave one →
  1. veronicalk permalink
    April 5, 2011 23:52

    Your food and table settings look amazing. Looking forward to your next post!!!

    • April 6, 2011 19:03

      Thank you so much. I have been slacking lately, hope to start posting again in a couple days.

  2. March 27, 2011 10:41

    What a great birthday menu. Everything looks delicious. Happy happy birthday to Adrienne!

    • March 29, 2011 20:20

      Thank you so much Megan, but YOU make incredible events to go along with the food/I am too old now.

  3. March 19, 2011 21:50

    What an amazing birthday dinner! I’m in love w/the jelly roll!! Goreous lemon curd. Happy Birthday to Adrienne:)

    • March 23, 2011 18:42

      Thanks for visiting Lora, I love any kind of jelly roll, easy and I can be messy too!

Leave a Reply

