Skip to content

Potato Pancakes

January 9, 2011

Try this delicious side dish for dinners, brunches and breakfast, I have been known to make a meal of them.  Growing up I also enjoyed them with maple syrup and butter, sweet and savory at it’s finest.  I admit I have never been able to make them as good as my mother, but I will never stop trying.  I think it is how you handle the mixture as I make it exactly the same way but remember my mother instructing me many times and they were always different, good but different.  She had a magic touch with potato pancakes as well as many other things.

Potato Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 4 Large Potatoes (coarsely grated)
  • 1 Medium Onion (coarsely grated)
  • 2 Eggs (lightly beaten)
  • 1/2 C. Flour
  • 3/4 t. Salt
  • 1/8 t. Freshly Ground Pepper
  • 1/4 t. Baking Powder
  • Crisco or Oil for Frying (use duck fat or bacon fat if available)
  • Applesauce (for garnish) Optional
  • Maple Syrup (for garnish) Optional

Preparation

  1. Grate the potatoes and onion separately; drain potatoes and squeeze out as much moisture as possible
  2. Beat the eggs in a large bowl; then add the potato, onion, flour, baking powder, salt and pepper
  3. Heat the oil in a large pan (about 1/4″ depth)
  4. Drop by Tablespoons into the hot oil
  5. Flatten with pancake turner to even them to a rounded shape
  6. Brown one side (5-6 minutes)
  7. Turn and brown the other side
  8. Remove from pan and drain on paper towels
  9. Serve on a warmed platter
  10. If using the optional applesauce or maple syrup, have bowls at table for passing

(Makes 8-10 pancakes)

Recipe from Betty Cheney

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 21:30

    sign me up

Leave a Reply

