Skip to content

Penuche

December 29, 2010

Generally I really want an after dinner mint at the end of a many course dinner.  It is the total statement that the meal has ended.  Many and all flavors have been enjoyed at my table.  I must admit I usually buy “After Eight” mints (some sort of addiction) but this year I had a craving for “penuche”.   A very simple candy, very sweet and I dare you to eat more than one.  That statement is strange to me since as a child when either my mother or my two aunts made penuche I think I could eat it as fast as they made it.  In retrospect, “how much sugar did I consume?” in any one day, week, month or year?  Frightening, glad my sugar needs have slowed down (not much), never will be gone.

Penuche

Ingredients

  • 2 C. Brown Sugar (packed)
  • 1 C. Evaporated Milk
  • 1 C. Granulated Sugar
  • 1 t. Light Corn Syrup
  • 1/4 t. Salt
  • 2 T. Butter
  • 1 t. Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 C. (+ for me) Toasted Walnuts (or Pecans)

 Preparation

  1. Prepare a 8×8 baking pan;line with aluminum foil and spray the foil with nonstick cooking spray
  2. Toast walnuts for a few minutes and set aside
  3. Combine milk, sugars, salt and corn syrup in a medium saucepan; heat over medium heat until the mixture reaches 234 degrees (soft ball)
  4. Remove from heat and stir in the butter; cool to room temperature
  5. When cool stir in vanilla and beat until mixture lightens in color and becomes creamy (electric mixer is best); stir in the nuts and pour into pan and smooth top
  6. Refrigerate for at least 2-3 hours
  7. Cut into 1″ squares (or smaller, this is Sweet)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 19:11

    Oh, it has been a long time since I had this one. Might be worth trying it again. I always loved it!! Thanks for posting the recipe.

Trackbacks

  1. New Year’s Eve Dinner Menu “2010″ « "Deja Vu" Cook

Leave a Reply

