Skip to content

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

December 24, 2010
Merry Christmas to you, your family, your friends and all the people you meet during this holiday season.  I never had a Christmas sweater-if I had extra cash I think it might be fun; hopefully Isaac Mizrahi would have one for me, he rocks color and style., I try to remember to wear red on the 24th and 25th of December (I usually forget, anyway).  When my children were young the biggest challenge for me was putting the toys together after they went to bed and before they woke up (no wonder I was such a zombie Christmas Morning = 2 Hours Sleep, hopefully).  I did not forget to put out some carrots and apples for Santa’s reindeer and I hope you will too.  But the  main goal for Santa is to give him a hearty, healthy and sweet cookie.  This is a good cookie any time of year, but one of Santa’s priorities.  And don’t forget to leave him some milk too (“I” know he likes milk with his cookies at any time of day or night “It has happened to me”.)
 
 
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
 
Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 C. Flour
  • 1/2 t. Salt
  • 1/2 t. Baking Powder
  • 8 oz. (2 sticks) Unsalted Butter (softened)
  • 1 C. Light Brown Sugar (packed)
  • 1 C. Sugar
  • 2 Lg. Eggs
  • 3 C. Oats
  • 1 1/2 C. Chocolate Chips
Preparation
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Whisk flour, slat and baking powder together in a medium bowl
  3. In a separate bowl beat butter until creamy; add sugars and beat mixture until fluffy (about 3 minutes)
  4. Beat in the eggs one at a time
  5. Stir dry ingredients into the butter and sugar mixture; add the oats and chocolate chips and stir well
  6. Place dough in large tablespoons on the cookie sheet (with 2″ between)
  7. Bake about 16-20 minutes  (until edges turn golden brown-depends on size)
  8. Put cookies on a rack to cool

 (Makes about 24 cookies)

Recipe from www.cooksillustrated.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

