Skip to content

Glazed Strawberry Pie

December 20, 2010

The first time I made this pie it was for Barry and John .  I don’t remember if it was in NYC or Long Island or Fire Island, but we did relish it.  I was especially happy that they thought a straight woman could make some “good pie”.  [no applause, no offense and I was happy and impressed].   So many years ago, and I did tell them as we enjoyed our dessert, whip cream dripping that my beautiful mother gave me the recipe which came from a company (now known as “BRAND”).  The truth is those companies cooked and cooked and baked and baked, so I do trust their recipes…(this one for sure).  Every time I make this pie I think of those beautiful people and times (I am a good pie maker/just not a good pie decorator) and the older I get I seem to just make funny faces of the pie (cannot pretend to decorate anymore).

Glazed Strawberry Pie                      

 Ingredients                                    

  • 1 9″ Baked Pie Shell
  • 3 Pints Strawberries
  • 1/ C. Water
  • 1 C. Sugar
  • 2 1/2 T. Cornstarch
  • 1 T. Butter
  • About 5 Drops Red Food Coloring ( I have never used this for recipe)

 Preparation                 

  1. Wash berries and remove hulls
  2. Arrange 2 C. berries in baked pie shell and set aside while glaze is made
  3. Crush 1 cup of the smaller berries and cook with the water for about 2 minutes
  4. Drain well with sieve, reserve juice (add water if needed to make 1 1/4 C. juice
  5. Discard cooked berries
  6. In saucepan combine sugar and cornstarch; stir in berry juice.  Cook and stir over medium heat until thickened and clear
  7. Add butter (This is when you add the food coloring)
  8. Cool slightly and then cover the whole berries with the glaze
  9. Chill for at least two hours
  10. Make whipped cream prior to serving       

                         

 For Whipped Cream               

  • 1 C. Heavy Cream
  • 1 t. Vanilla Extract (optional) *

Whip cream until it becomes quite thick and add in the vanilla   (Adapted from “Crisco’s Favorite Family Foods Cookbook”   

*I seldom use the vanilla extract as usually the pie is sweet enough and I enjoy the flavor of the cream alone        

Recipe adapted from Betty Cheney

Leave a Reply

