Skip to content

Broccoli Soup

November 24, 2010

“Happy Thanksgiving”

 “Fruit Basket”

(“Circa 1920” Polychromed Bronze-Clad / Hirsch)

[Courtesy of www.antiquebookendshoppe.com]

I had not made this soup in quite a few years as I usually make “Cream of Broccoli Soup” but since I was serving it this year for Thanksgiving I wanted it to be lighter.  I had forgotten how sweet and delicious it was on its own.  The crispy shallots are a wonderful garnish and with the little taste of the chive garnish as well, the soup went to the top-level for me as a wonderful soup to start a most plentiful bounty of a meal to come.
 

Broccoli Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 T. Olive Oil
  • 1 Lg. Onion (chopped)
  • 2 Cloves Garlic (peeled and minced)
  • 1 Lg. Head of Broccoli (Florets,washed and cut)
  • 1 Potato (peeled and diced)
  • 4 C. Chicken Broth
  • 1/4 t. Ground Nutmeg
  • Salt
  • Freshly Ground Pepper 
  • 5-6 Shallots (peeled, sliced, sautéed for Garnish)
  • Handful of Chives (chopped)

Preparation

  1. Saute garlic and onion in the olive oil in a large saucepan
  2. Add the broccoli, potato and chicken broth and bring to a boil
  3. Reduce heat and simmer about 15-20 minutes until vegetables are tender
  4. Use an immersion blender to puree the mixture until smooth
  5. Reheat, season with nutmeg, salt and pepper
  6. Serve in warmed soup bowls
  7. Garnish with sautéed shallots and chives  

Serves (6-8)

Adapted from Fannie Farmer

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 16:19

    Look’s so tasty. Can I use a blender to whip for I don’t own a immersion blender? I realize I would need the soup mixture to cool first. Thankyou for sharing this recipe. 🙂

    • November 29, 2010 16:39

      Thanks for looking and yes you can use a blender in batches and yes cooled. Thanks for reminding me, I should always put that in the preparation section, but I am so sold on the immersion blender I sometimes forget. I think you will love this soup.

Trackbacks

  1. Broccoli Soup « Ninny's Nest
  2. Thanksgiving Dinner Menu “2010″ « "Deja Vu" Cook

Leave a Reply

