Skip to content

New England Sugar Cookies

October 23, 2010

There is nothing to compare to a good old-fashioned cookie for me.  I think these were one of the first cookies I helped make with my mother when I was about three or four years old.  I can still feel her guiding hands and encouraging words every time I make them.  This is the simplest of simple cookie making, quick, delicious and a great recipe for young children to learn to do themselves.  Never a failure and always a great midnight snack.

New England Sugar Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 C. Flour
  • 1 C. Sugar
  • 2 t. Baking Powder
  • 3/4 t. Salt
  • 1/2 C. Shortening
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 2 t. Vanilla
  • 1-2 oz. Sugar (for top of cookies)
  • Optional – Raisins or Nuts (for top of cookies)

Preparation

  1. Sift the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt together
  2. Cut in the shortening
  3. Add the eggs and vanilla and mix well
  4. Roll dough in small balls and then press flat with bottom of a glass
  5. Sprinkle with sugar
  6. Optional – Press a raisin or nut in center of cookie
  7. Bake at 375 Degrees on greased cookie sheet for 10-12 minutes 

(Makes Approximately 24 Cookies)

Recipe from the 50’s from Betty Cheney

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jean permalink
    August 10, 2013 11:13

    I made these cookies this week. They are delicious and very easy to make. Saving this one. Thank You!

    • August 20, 2013 20:00

      Thank you. My computer has been down, thanks for your time and I am glad you liked the cookies.

  2. October 29, 2010 10:13

    Going to try these today – wish me luck! :-))

    • October 29, 2010 14:51

      I hope you like them, pretty humid today though. You don’t need luck I have seen some of the beautiful things you make.

  3. October 23, 2010 23:48

    I think sugar cookies are one of my favorite cookies. I like the rustic look these cookies have. Thumbs up! 🙂

    • October 29, 2010 14:49

      Rustic look is just about all I do anymore. You are the fancy one! I don’t have the patience that you have.

Leave a Reply

