Skip to content

Sabine’s Mainz Salad

October 7, 2010

“In order to live off a garden, you practically have to live in it.”


           ——–   Frank McKinney Hubbard
 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was fortunate to spend many days and nights in Mainz, Frankfurt and Munich and enjoy the foods, shopping and the wonderful people.  But in my own home in Coral Gables, Florida I also enjoyed a few “au pairs”  from Germany that helped me with my two young children while I worked for Trans World Airlines (TWA).  Many gifts were brought from Miami and New York to Germany and even more from Germany to New York and Florida.  (Do not forget, I carried those gifts, both ways and I was thrilled to do it, but my back, knees and especially my wrists have other things to say).  Just about every restaurant in Mainz had a salad similar to this one that was served with your dinner whether you ordered it or not.  I always loved it at all the restaurants.  Each one was a little bit different, but yet all the same.  When I travelled I usually prepared plenty of entrees in advance and kept them frozen and Sabine would prepare the salads and desserts.  This was one of our family’s top request.  Sabine is back in Germany with her own family, but she is with me in my kitchen many days of the year.

Sabine’s Mainz Salad

Ingredients (per person*)

  • 1/2 C. Romaine Lettuce (roughly cut)
  • 1 Large Beet (boiled and sliced) (may substitute canned)
  • 1/2 Large Cucumber (peeled and sliced
  • 1 Potato (boiled and sliced)
  • Few Sprigs of Parsley (for garnish)

Preparation

  1. Arrange lettuce on chilled plate
  2. Add the beets, cucumber and potato in separate thirds on top of lettuce
  3. Keep chilled, may be set up to this point, cover and refrigerate until ready to serve
  4. Put a tablespoon of the dressing in the middle of the salad just prior to serving
  5. Garnish with a sprig of parsley

* These ingredients are for one serving

Sour Cream Dressing

Ingredients

  • 1 C. Sour Cream
  • 2 T. Onion (grated)
  • 1 T. Red Wine Vinegar
  • 1 T. Sugar
  • 1 T. Dijon Mustard
  • 1 t. Dill (or Fresh Dill)
  • Salt
  • Freshly Ground Pepper

Preparation

  1. Mix thoroughly all ingredients in a bowl, cover and refrigerate until ready to serve

(Serves 4)

Inspired by many restaurants in Mainz, Germany and perfected by my good friend Sabine from Munchen, Germany.

This is the week to celebrate “Fall Salads” and this salad is one of my contributions.  There are a lot more ideas and recipes at www.awaytogarden.com  for “Fall Fest 2010”.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

