Skip to content

Zucchini and Onions

August 19, 2010

What a wonderful diverse vegetable.  Have it raw for snacks and salads, deep-fried with or without batter, sautéed for a side dish, frittatas, pastas and casseroles, blanched for soups and dips and the list goes on and on.  I have tried three years in a row to grow a few with no success.  I have friends here in Florida that grow them quite easily so back to the books for me I guess.  The local markets always seem to have a great supply so I do not feel that I have suffered from not growing my own, except for the flowers which I have not found at the markets.  zucchinis sautéed like this may be served hot, room temperature or even cold.  They cook down quite a bit so be generous with the amount you start out with.  And for me I try to always cook a double amount as the leftovers can create another fabulous recipe.

 

 Zucchini and Onions

Ingredients

  • 6-8 Medium Zucchini (about 1 1/2 per person, if they are small)
  • 2 Medium Yellow Onions
  • 3 T. Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Freshly Ground Pepper
  • Parmesan Cheese (grated) (optional)

Preparation

  1. Wash and slice the zucchini
  2. Slice the onions
  3. Saute the zucchini and onions
  4. Salt and pepper as desired
  5. Sprinkle with freshly grated Parmesan (optional)

 

 

As seen in the photos, decide how thoroughly cooked you may like your zucchini.  I prefer mine very dark as they become sweeter and sweeter.

(Serves 4)

Leave a Reply

