Skip to content

Caramelized Pineapple Sundaes with Toasted Coconut

August 1, 2010

 

My father would take any and/or all of us children (and there were 5) to get an ice cream day or night and cupcakes too.  I think he may have loved ice cream more than me.  He never ordered extra toppings when we were out, but he did relish a great pineapple topping at home (and some rum added to the mix would be acceptable as well).  Although I am a true chocolate freak I do have some friends that do not eat chocolate, ever.  Since I am addicted to having something on or with my ice cream I have a few alternatives for friends and a change of pace at home.  They are simple to do, look a bit fancy and if you carmelize the pineapple and toast the coconut in advance dessert practically makes itself.  I love this perfect combination for a beautiful and refreshing dessert for family or dinner guests.

Caramelized Pineapple Sundaes with Toasted Coconut

Ingredients

  • 1 Medium Pineapple (peeled, eyes and core removed, cut into small pieces)
  • 1/4 C. Clarified Butter
  • 1/4 C. Dark Brown Sugar, firmly packed
  • 2 T. Vanilla
  • 1/2 t. Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/4 t.  Ground Ginger
  • Vanilla Ice Cream, Cake or Pudding (make your own or store bought)

* If just serving adults, add some rum to the mix

Preparation

  1. Combine the pineapple, butter, brown sugar and vanilla in a pan
  2. Cook over medium heat for 5-8 minutes (until the pineapple and brown sugar is carmelized)
  3. Serve warm over vanilla ice cream (delicious on cake as well)
  4. Or refrigerate in a tightly sealed container (may be served cold as well)

  

Toasted Coconut

Ingredients and Preparation

  • 1 C. Flaked Coconut
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  2. Put coconut flakes on a baking sheet and toast about 15 minutes until brown, turning occasionally
  3. Cool and store in an air-tight container until ready for use 

 

 

(This amount of Pineapple Sauce will serve approximately 6-8)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 22:41

    Oh that looks delicious! When I was little, my dad use to always order pineapple milkshakes from a local hamburger joint. That was way before McD or that burger king guy came to town. This reminds me of him.

    Sorry I haven’t been around much, life has been busy or maybe it was that I have been rather lazy. I guess it’s been a little of both!

    Stumbled!

  2. August 1, 2010 13:57

    Kathleen,
    The toasted coconut reminds me of a dinner that you made for Nelson and me. It was a Cuban Pork Roast, black beans and I especially remember vanilla ice cream rolled in toasted coconut and almonds. Maybe you could share the recipes from that meal sometime in the future.
    Regina

    • August 1, 2010 23:36

      Thanks for stopping by. I do remember some dinners with that wonderful dessert. (It is on my list/to do). The dinner you remember is “Feijoada”, the national dish of Brazil. The first time I made the entire menu was the Christmas after my father died. It was a terribly sad time and nobody wanted to cook, eat or prepare any foods, and we did not want the typical “Christmas Dinner”. I am beginnng to do some full menus from all the foods I have enjoyed around the world that will include some family favorites. In the interim please take a look at “Shrimp in Mustard Sauce”, it is one of the courses served that evening, and the Menu is there as well.

Trackbacks

  1. Super Bowl Sunday Menu “2011″ « "Deja Vu" Cook
  2. Top 10 Recipes of 2010 « "Deja Vu" Cook

Leave a Reply

