Skip to content

Cucumber Pineapple Salad

July 5, 2010

The first time I ever went to a spa for a 5-day respite I had a variation of this salad.  It sounded strange on the menu but was refreshing and delicious.  I went to the spa for relaxation, beauty treatments and rest.  They had other ideas.  They wanted me to start the day at 7 am with a hike, that didn’t happen.  I started my day at noon.  I did sign up for some water volley ball and pilates which were both wonderful.  The massages, body wraps and facials were glorious and invigorating.  I also signed up for the “spa” restaurant, but only attended for one dinner.  The food was delicious, just not enough of it.  So I headed back to my room and ordered “room service”.  The rest of the time spent at the spa I had all my meals in the “regular” restaurant.  I made it a point to order different things everyday hoping to try almost everything on the menu and this particular salad was the winner from that 5-day rest and rejuvenation.  When I left I felt like a new “me” ready to go back to day to day life with additional zest to share.

 Cucumber Pineapple Salad

Ingredients

  • 1/4 C. Sugar
  • 2/3 C. Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 2 T. Water
  • 2 C. Fresh Pineapple (peeled, cored and cut into 1/4 inch pieces)
  • 2 Cucumbers (peeled and sliced)
  • 2 Carrots (peeled and grated)
  • 1/2 C. Red Onion (thinly sliced)
  • 2-3 T. Sesame Seeds (toasted)

Preparation

  1. Heat sugar, vinegar and water to a boil
  2. Stir constantly until reduced (about 5 minutes)
  3. Place in large bowl and refrigerate
  4. Add the pineapple, cover and refrigerate for about 1 hour
  5. Add the cucumbers, carrots and red onions to the pineapple mixture and toss well
  6. Line chilled plates with lettuce and top with the pineapple mixture
  7. Garnish with sesame seeds

(Serves 4-6)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2010 07:06

    Thanks for sharing.

Trackbacks

  1. Body Workout 101

Leave a Reply

