Skip to content

Tomato, Cucumber and Red Onion Marinated Salad

May 11, 2010

This is a very cold pleasing salad for a lunch or dinner and can be made the day before as it gets tastier the longer it marinates.  Since I have been lucky with the tomatoes in my garden all the tomato recipes are in play here on a daily basis.  The heat has been extreme the past few days, so it won’t be long until I will only have the grape tomatoes which I hope will make it through August.  To me this is the bare bones of a Greek Salad but intensified with no lettuce in the way.  The Florida summer heat helps me remember all the salads I have had through the years and the mind keeps going to cold and crisp.

Ingredients

  •  2 Cucumbers (peeled and sliced)
  • 3 Medium Tomatoes (cut in 6 pieces)
  • 1 Large Red Onion (roughly chopped
  • 3 T. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 3 T. Vinegar
  • 1/4 t. Sugar
  • 1/8 t.  Dijon Mustard
  • Pinch of Sea Salt
  • Freshly Ground Pepper
  • Parsley (chopped)
  • Greek Olives for Garnish (optional)
  • Feta Cheese for Garnish (optional)

Preparation

Put all ingredients in a bowl, cover and chill for 2-4 hours

Chill the bowls or ramekins for this salad to be served as is.

Set a bowl of Greek Olives and Marinated Feta Cheese at the table for additional garnish.

I am not paid by these companies, but I do keep them in my refrigerator at all times in case I do not have fresh.  The olives are my favorite from the shelf and the marinated Feta in oil is fantastic especially for this salad. 

(Serves 4-6)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 15:16

    I love the freshness of this kind of salad. Your pictures are terrific. What kind of camamra do you use? I’m thinking of getting a new one.

    • May 12, 2010 18:03

      I bought a Panasonic Lumix ZS3 in the fall and have not read the manual yet. I am sure I could be doing a lot more.

Leave a Reply

