Skip to content

Spring Garden Salad

April 29, 2010

 A salad from my garden:

Things in the garden were running a little bit late this year due to an unusually cold February and March for us here in Florida, so I was pleasantly surprised to have a few tomatoes ready for my Easter Sunday Menu.  There was a lot of other food for the dinner so the simple garden salad was light and perfectly balanced.   But a few weeks later and I was ready for the first big salad that came totally from the plants in my yard.  Absolutely everything from my yard composed the salad.  I have always grown herbs as it makes such a difference in cooking just about anything and it is extremely satisfying to walk around the yard cutting what you need for different recipes, but this year I promised myself to make a bigger effort and add additional plants and test my capabilities.  So far I am happy with some small success.  We shall see………….

I had a few plants of mixed lettuce which was the first layer of the salad.

Added some flat leaf parsley

Mixed in some arugula,

Add some basil,

Some garlic chives

Some thinly sliced “Better Boy” tomatoes,

A  few nasturtiums

And a little more color from the hibiscus

and…………………”salad happiness”!  I was very happy.  The salad was incredibly fresh, crisp and delivered its own sweetness.  There is nothing so aromatic as cutting the leaves and plating them from your own garden. 

Just added olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper at the table.

I was inspired by @GoodLifeEats to write a garden post and will be doing more in the future.  Many people are contributing and I found the site fun and full of great information.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 14:07

    Oh my goodness girl, beautiful. Wish we could have lunch together!

    Nice to meet you, too!

  2. April 29, 2010 13:53

    Thanks but I am not at all thrilled, just cook, shoot, eat. Good wishes and good food for your garden. I may do a post on all the things in the garden, but busy gardening lately.

  3. April 29, 2010 10:25

    Were just starting our garden for our summer bounty. Your pictures are terrific!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Mother’s Day Dinner 2011 « "Deja Vu" Cook

Leave a Reply

