Skip to content

Open Face Sloppy Joes

March 27, 2010

It is “always” open face for me because I can be very messy.  This quick and satisfying dinner goes back a very long time and with so many different recipes I go back to it occasionally for the “deja vu” and the simplicity.  The first time I had it was when I went away for a weekend camping trip as a child.  It is similar to the Girl Scouts recipes I have seen with a few changes.  It is the way I remember making it on my first “and only” camping trip.  All the other “camps” I have been at were at a Hilton or another similar hotel.  Well I did camp in East Africa in Kenya and Tanzania, but the guide knew where to put us at the end of the day.  Sometimes it was a tent or a lodge with great accommodations and we were fed some spectacular menu items that I would never be making at a campsite.  Maybe I haven’t met the right campers yet, but I like white tablecloths, china and crystal at my campsite.

 

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. Ground Beef
  • 1 Onion (chopped)
  • 1 Can Tomato Paste
  • 1 Can Tomato Sauce
  • 2/4 C. Beef Broth or Water
  • 1 t. Chili Powder
  • 1 t. Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 Green Pepper (chopped) (which unfortunately I did not have this night)
  • Salt and Pepper

  Preparation

  1. Melt the butter and add the chopped onions (sweat for 2-3 minutes) (add the chopped green pepper)
  2. Add the ground beef and brown stirring occasionally
  3. Drain off the excess fat
  4. Stir in the tomato paste and tomato sauce
  5. Add the chili powder and Worcestershire Sauce
  6. Add the beef brown, bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer until it thickens
  7. Salt and pepper as desired
  8. Serve on a toasted roll with a side of sweet corn

(Serves 4)

 

As always it was another delicious childhood meal.  I do not remember when but at some time someone served it with corn and from that time on I don’t consider it complete without the corn.  It is another special treat to serve it with corn on the cob!  And now I wish I had some corn on the cob!

P.S.  I usually use the inexpensive hamburger rolls for this family meal as they are great to save in the freezer to make stuffing.  A fancy hard roll is put on the menu for special guests.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

