Skip to content

Corn Chowder with Bacon

March 10, 2010

My parents were born in Boston so we have always been a chowder (pronounced “chowdah”) family.  My mother’s favorite was fish chowder, clam chowder was high on everyone’s list, my two favorites are lobster and corn chowder and salmon chowder.  And my father loved them all!   But corn chowder was a staple in late summer/early fall in Connecticut, as it is in winter here in Florida, and when no fresh fish or shellfish is available in my house.   I started working at a local farm when I was about 10 years old selling the fruits and vegetables at a roadside stand and helping the farmer’s wife washing, cleaning and cutting vegetables for their dinner.  That farmer in Glastonbury, Connecticut had the best corn as far as I was concerned and it was always a special night when my mother said “we are having “corn” for dinner!”    That did not mean corn as a side dish, it meant you could eat all the corn you wanted because that was all you were going to get!  Looking back now I understand money must have been tight as my father was a meat and potato man, but it never occurred to me then.  I thought all of us children had been good and deserved a “treat”.  Corn chowder is a very hearty meal and can be served as  a main course or in a very small serving for a starter.  Whatever way you may choose to serve it, make no mistake, it will be a very memorable dish.

Corn Chowder with Bacon

Ingredients

  • 4 Slices Bacon (diced)
  • 1 T. Unsalted Butter
  • 1 Medium Onion (chopped finely)
  • 1 Stalk Celery (sliced finely)
  • 2 C. Chicken Stock (or water)
  • 4 Potatoes (cut in bite size pieces)
  • 1 Can Sweet Creamed Corn (14 3/4 oz.)
  • 1 Can Sweet Corn (14 3/4 oz.)
  • 1 C. Half and Half (or substitute with Heavy Cream or Milk)
  • Salt and White Pepper (I prefer white pepper in chowders)

Preparation

  1. Cook bacon (reserve half the amount for garnishing soup)
  2. Add butter, onions and celery and cook on medium heat about 5-7 minutes
  3. Add stock and potatoes  and cook approximately 10-15 minutes (until potatoes are fork tender)
  4. Add corn and heat thoroughly
  5. Add half  and half and seasonings and simmer 30 minutes (do not boil)
  6. Plate and add garnish
  7. Served with some bread (Panettone*)

(Serves 4-8)

Adapted from “The Fannie Farmer Cookbook”

 * Lucky and not planned!  I went to the bakery near my house but was a little too late for fresh bread sticks, croissants or a baguette, but look what they had!  And with just a little bit of sweetness it went perfectly with the sweet corn in the chowder!

 

Panettone 

 From the wonderful bakery “Napoleon Pastries”.  They specialize in French, Spanish and Basque Cuisine.  They are located on South Dixie Highway near Forest Hill Boulevard.  If you live in West Palm Beach do not miss this treasure.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 09:10

    YUM!! This looks and sounds delicious!! Can’t wait to make it. I’m bookmarking it now. You have a lot of great recipes here…I’m glad you found me through twitter. I’m following you now. I’m also in South Florida…it’s been colder than normal this winter which has meant lots of tasty soups, and actually getting to wear my winter/fall clothes. It’s been great…but I actually got a chance to miss SUMMER for a change 😉

    • March 23, 2010 20:37

      Thanks for commenting. I am enjoying your blog as well. I made alot of soups this year too due to the unusual weather.

  2. March 10, 2010 14:48

    I love chowder too and this looks tasty! I remember as a kid, going to my grandparents house and eating all the corn we wanted. We ate tons of fresh picked corn and I remember getting so full. Those are some nice memories! 🙂 I Stumbled this post!

Trackbacks

  1. Celebrate National Soup Month in January « "Deja Vu" Cook

Leave a Reply

