Skip to content

Strata with Sausage, Fontina and Bell Peppers

January 25, 2010

  

When you want Strata nothing else will do.  I have not always loved eating breakfast but now breakfast and brunch are some of my favorite meals.  As a child my mother made wonderful breakfasts of hot and cold cereal, soft-boiled eggs, different home-made muffins,breads and wonderful toast with home-made jam during the week.  I say wonderful toast as “back then” we had a bakery delivery three times a week and I have very seldom seen some of those breads ever again.   (Oh, and a milk delivery every other day.)   On the weekends breakfast was a feast with bacon, sausage and eggs, pancakes or waffles, fruit salads, custards and sometimes Irish bread.  But for me some peanut butter and jelly on crackers was normal and fluffernutters were my first choice!  I worked weekends for many, many years of my life (starting at age 10) and I fell into a pattern of making a brunch type dinner quite often since I missed the “social” element to the weekend feasts.  

Strata with Sausage, Fontina and Bell Peppers  

Ingredients  

  • 6 large eggs
  • 1 1/4 C. whole milk
  • 2 C. sliced green onions
  • 1/4 C. whipping cream
  • 1/3 C. grated Romano cheese
  • 2 T. chopped fresh oregano
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • pepper (as you like)
  • 1 lb. Italian sausage (hot or mild) casings removed
  • l large green bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1/2 large red pepper, seeded and diced
  •  1 T. butter
  • 1/2 loaf French bread, cut into 1/2 inch thick slices

Preparation  

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter 13x9x2 inch ceramic or glass baking dish.  Whisk first 7 ingredients in large bowl; sprinkle generously with pepper; set aside.
  2. Place sausage in large skillet and sauté over high heat breaking up the sausage with  fork til cooked through.
  3. Place green and red pepper in skillet with 1 T. butter and sauté until soft.
  4. Add sausage and peppers to egg mixture.
  5. Arrange bread slices in baking dish.  Pour half of the egg mixture over the bread.
  6. Sprinkle with half of the cheese.
  7. Add the remaining egg mixture and the remaining cheese.
  8. Let stand 20 minutes occasionally pressing on the bread to submerge.
  9. Bake Strata until puffed and golden brown. (about 1 hour)  Cool slightly before serving.

Serves 6-8  

(Strata Adapted from Epicurious)  

  

Served with Asparagas and a Salad with Grilled Pineapple and Walnuts  

Asparagas  

Saute, drain and serve with butter and salt.  

Salad with Grilled Pineapple and Walnuts  

  • Mixed Greens
  • 1″ squares of Pineapple grilled with a pat of butter
  • Chopped Walnuts

Arrange greens on individual plates.  Add grilled pineapple and chopped walnuts.  

Blue Cheese Dressing  

   

    

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 14:03

    I love stratas and this sounds amazing.

    Hello! I’m megan and I’m your adopted “mom”. Nice to meet ya! I cant wait to follow your blog and chat a bit. I’ve subscribed!

    I’m in between blog platforms right now but it will be up and running any day now. You can get a hold of me through my e-mail. it’s
    megan_pires2000{at}yahoo{dot}com.

Leave a Reply

