Skip to content

Zucchini au Gratin

August 27, 2012

Yes, I feel comfortable and okay with adapting Julia Child’s recipe.  And so should you, after you make the original a few times.  I made this the night that Hurricane Isaac was pounding West Palm Beach with bands of rain.  I must admit that I do get a bit anxious about hurricanes the older I get and also so many neighbors are now gone due to foreclosures.  So when things get close I make delicious food that is good hot or cold.  And if I still have power (no gas utility here for me) any leftovers of this dish will be an omelette that will roll your eyes.

Zucchini au Gratin

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lbs. Zucchini (quartered and thinly sliced) *
  • 1 t. Salt
  • 1 Sm. Onion (sliced thinly) **
  • 2 T. Olive Oil or Unsalted Butter
  • 2 T. Unsalted Butter
  • 2 T. Flour
  • 1 1/2 C. Liquid (Zucchini Juice and Milk)
  • Salt
  • Freshly Ground White Pepper ***
  • 2/3 C. Parmesan Cheese (grated) ****
  • Pinch of Nutmeg

Preparation

  1. Prepare Zucchini (grate, dice or shred) and toss in a colander with 1 t. salt; let steep for 20 min.
  2. Use a towel to extract juices and set aside
  3. Saute the onion with the olive oil or butter; add the zucchini and toss over medium high heat for 2-3 minutes and set aside
  4. Begin the sauce by melting 2 T. Unsalted Butter, add the flour with a wooden spoon on medium heat (about 2 min.) until combined/remove from heat and whisk in the liquids; bring to a boil while , for 2 minutes while stirring/add the 1/3 C. of Parmesan cheese and stir while it combines in the sauce; season to taste with salt, pepper and nutmeg
  5. Fold zucchini into the sauce; put in a buttered baking dish and cover with the remaining Parmesan cheese
  6. Bake at 400 degrees until browned and bubbling (about 15-20 minutes)

*  Grating the zucchini is the original recipe.  I prefer the slim triangles or thin slices work well too.

** Shallots are used in original recipe; which I do prefer when using grated zucchini

*** Julia always used white pepper, I love it but it is not necessary for success

**** I will have a bad review from my Doctor; but I do love cheese in this recipe

Serves 6-8

Recipe adapted from ‘The Kitchen’ by Julia Child

One Comment leave one →
  1. Louise permalink
    November 5, 2012 21:38

    I made this dish last night. The Zucchini was right out of the garden. It was very good. I think I will try it with a few patty pan squashes that need picking. btw I could find the Badia Mojo Marinade for the chicken thighs recipe but I found Goya Mojo Criollo Marinade. I’ll give it a try.

    Cheers,

    Louise

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

