Skip to content

Alpine Mushroom Broth

March 8, 2012

Enjoy this incredibly light and yet so rich broth by yourself or as a special treat to share with friends. Simple to make and yet so rewarding with layers of flavor.  I make this often for myself but many friends always ask when they will be invited for second serving.  Enjoy this broth that is both lush and a beautiful beginning to tempt your palette.

Alpine Mushroom Broth

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb. Angel Hair
  • 1 lb. Fresh Mushrooms
  • 1 Lg. Egg slightly beaten)
  • 12 C. Beef Stock or Broth
  • 1/2 C. Parmesan Cheese (plus addl. for garnish)
  • Salt and Fresh Ground Pepper to taste
  • Fresh Chives (snipped for garnish)

Preparation

  1. Clean mushrooms with a dry cloth; slice and fry in butter on med-high heat approx. 15 minutes
  2. Add the beef stock and continue to boil gently for about 15 minutes
  3. Add the pasta and boil briskly for 2 more minutes while stirring
  4. Remove from heat; gently whisk in the egg and sprinkle with the cheese
  5. Serve immediately in warmed bowls and sprinkle with  Parmesan cheese and fresh chives

(Serves 6-8)

Recipe from DeCecco

See other mushroom soup recipes:

Cream of Mushroom Soup

Six Mushroom Soup   

Kenyan Mushroom Soup

Duck and Mushroom Soup

Alpine Mushroom Broth

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Zante permalink
    August 17, 2014 23:38

    I’ve made this soup several times since I found the directions on the package in October. I’ve used different combinations of fresh mushrooms, straw or oyster canned mushrooms, and dried mushrooms. Hint, when using part dried mushrooms, swap the soaking liquid for stock or broth. There are a couple individual servings stored in the freezer right now.

  2. March 10, 2012 17:02

    What a great soup!

  3. March 9, 2012 08:02

    Such a simple mushroom soup…it sounds delicious.

    • March 15, 2012 20:07

      Not only simple but very fast and rich. Thank you for visiting and hope you will let me know if you make this soup.

  4. March 9, 2012 07:38

    Mmh I should do mushroom soup more often… looks delicious!

    • March 15, 2012 20:09

      Mushrooms are so wonderful. I have quite a few mushroom soup recipes on my site because I make them often. Thank you for your visit and comment.

      • March 16, 2012 04:44

        Oh I will have to take a deeper look at the site then! :)

      • March 17, 2012 18:58

        Sorry for the delayed response but I added the other mushroom soup recipes at the end of the post “Allpine Mushroom Broth”. Thank you so much for stopping by again and let me know if you have any questions.

      • March 19, 2012 05:13

        Nice thank you :)

      • March 19, 2012 19:36

        I thank you/I should have thought to do that sooner. I think I will do that with my ‘onion’ soup recipes too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

