Skip to content

Heath Chips and Peanut Butter Cookies

December 24, 2011

Lately I have been seeing many recipes with candy involved and I have tried a few and I am partial to a few candies, but have never said no to ANY candy.  Years ago when I did not have enough seniority to fly with two of my best friends, (Rudy Popolo; Service Manager and Louis Pierre Sancelot; Purser ) sometimes I would be working the same flight but a day behind them.  That means they had already left the hotel in the morning when I arrived but without fail the Concierge at all of the hotels on those mornings would call me over to his desk (smiling) with a special package from them and yes, it was always candy.  Both of them knew about my terrible times of some nights of no sleep with the time change, but more importantly they knew if I did not have sweets in my room I would be walking the streets to find some.  They worked for TWA during the time of Howard Hughes and they brought years of experience, history, Hollywood, gossip, love and so much laughter with them.  I remember them every day and miss them more than that.

Heath Chips and Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 C. Shortening
  • 3/4 C. Peanut Butter
  • 1 1/4 C. Lt. Brown Sugar
  • 3 T. Whole Milk
  • 1 T. Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Lg. Egg
  • 1 1/2 C. All Purpose Flour
  • 3/4 t. Salt
  • 1 C. Plus 1/3 C. Heath Milk Chocolate Toffee Bits

Preparation

  1. Beat shortening, peanut butter, brown sugar, milk and vanilla in a large bowl until blended thoroughly
  2. Add egg and beat just until blended
  3. Combine flour, baking soda and salt; gradually beat into the peanut butter mixture
  4. Stir in 1 C. of the toffee bits (reserve remainder for topping
  5. Drop by heaping teaspoons (about 2″ apart) onto ungreased cookie sheet covered with parchment paper
  6. Bake in preheated oven at 375 degrees for 7-8 minutes; remove from oven and cool completely on a wire rack

(Makes 2 1/2 – 3 Dozen)

Recipe from www.hersheyskitchens.com

I really loved these cookies/but I am still going back to basic cookies

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 25, 2011 09:07

    Those look just wonderful. Have a great Christmas.

  2. Sad Man's Tongue: Rockabilly Bar & Bistro - Prague permalink
    December 25, 2011 05:31

    Merry Christmas and thanks for following :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

