Skip to content

Monsieur’s Salade of Carrots, Walnuts and Bleu Cheese

October 6, 2010

The true salad connoisseur or a well-trained chef knows how to create a magical salad, this was one of those salads.

     ——–dejavucook

  

A wonderful salad from the restaurant “Monsier Lapin” in Paris.  I literally stumbled into it one snowy night in Paris by myself.  I had not made plans for dinner with friends as I was just too tired for major evening shenanigans. The flight was delayed due to snow in Paris (I didn’t think it could be that much), roads were at a stand still on the drive from Charles de Gaulle and it was still snowing when I woke up at 5 p.m. !  Unfortunately when I showed up at my local “go to Bistro” they were closed, it was still snowing and incredibly windy so I was only wandering around the neighborhood (not willing to go too far, just wanted great food and early to bed) and saw the word “Lapin” on a restaurant and that was my invitation.  Needless to say the rabbit was heavenly but to my utter disbelief I was transported with this salad. I make it all the time.  Very little romaine with huge amounts of walnuts, carrots and bleu cheese in that order.  “Bon Appetit”.

Monsieur’s Salade of Carrots, Walnuts and Bleu Cheese

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Head of Romaine Lettuce
  • 6-8 Large Carrots (finely chopped or shredded)
  • 2 C. Walnuts
  • 1/2 lb. Bleu Cheese

 Preparation

  1. Arrange some romaine on chilled dinner plate
  2. Add a layer of carrots
  3. Add walnuts all around the salad
  4. Break up the Bleu cheese and place a mound of it on top of salad
  5. Drizzle with dressing (Simple Vinaigrette – below)

(Serves 4)

Walnut  Vinaigrette

Ingredients and Preparation

  • 1 t. Salt
  • 1 t. Freshly Ground Pepper
  • 4 T. Red Wine Vinegar
  • 12 T. Walnut Oil

Put the salt and pepper in a bowl and then add the vinegar, stirring thoroughly. Add the oil slowly and continue to stir until all the ingredients are completely blended

This is the week to celebrate “Fall Salads” and this salad is one of my contributions.  There are a lot more ideas and recipes at www.awaytogarden.com  for “Fall Fest 2010″.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

