Skip to content

BLT Spaghetti

September 9, 2010

How much do you hate someone reading over your shoulder?  I really do hate it, a lot.  And then, this is how I got this recipe.  I was starting a new job and the first day I was supposed to be there at 8 a.m. I found myself unable to get in my own car in my own driveway.  Vandalized.  All the door handles and keyholes were broken except one, the back door, passenger side.  But I was wearing a skirt.  First thoughts of calling the police, changing clothes and jumping and crawling to the driver’s side were not acceptable.  Next and final thought was to call the police, explain the situation, and call a cab; made it to work on time.  Figured out how to take the bus home and pick up a bus schedule as well.  While I arranged to have the car locks fixed I continued to ride the bus to and from work as it was going to be about 10 days for the auto repair shop to get the parts and repair.  After a couple of days of riding the bus I kept seeing this lady and she was always reading a cooking magazine and we spoke occasionally (that happens on the bus with frequent riders).  I should do another post about what else I learned on the bus, as it is quite important in my life since then.  But going back to the nice, and I do mean “nice” lady on the bus.  I was reading every page she turned and finally she started talking about trying to find a recipe for an office lunch that she would like to bring.  We spoke briefly and I told her I loved the “BLT Pasta” recipe she had been looking at.  She gave me the magazine to take home to copy and I should return the magazine to her the next day.  I did take the magazine, wrote the recipe down but did not see her for three days on that bus again.  She was fine with that and during our car problems we exchanged other recipes and still do.  That was the best experience of my bus travels but there were quite a few others.

BLT Spaghetti 

Ingredients

  • 6 Strips Thick Sliced Bacon (cut in 1″ pieces)
  • 1 C. Juliette Tomatoes
  • 1 t. Sugar
  • 1 lb. Spaghetti
  • 4 oz. Unsalted Butter
  • 1 Cup Heavy Cream
  • 1/2 C. Parmesan Cheese (grated) PLUS additional shaved Parmesan for garnish
  • 2 C. Spinach Leaves
  • Salt
  • Freshly Ground Pepper

Preparation

  1. Saute the bacon until crisp, drain and set aside
  2. Pour off the bacon fat except for 1 T. of the drippings
  3. Start pot of water for spaghetti, bring to boil and cook spaghetti to al dente
  4. Add the tomatoes and sugar and carmelize until the tomatoes begin to brown (about 5 minutes)
  5. Add the cream and grated cheese and stir to combine (keep on low heat)
  6. Drain spaghetti and set aside (reserve 1/4 C. spaghetti water for sauce, if needed)
  7. Stir in the spinach quickly and then add the spaghetti
  8. Serve immediately on warmed plated
  9. Garnish with shaved Parmesan cheese

(Serves 4)

Adapted from the magazine “Cuisine at Home” from a lovely lady on a bus

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 10:47

    I panicked for a moment. I came to get the directions and I couldn’t remember where I saw this recipes. Then I remembered it was here. I thought I had Stumbled it or bookmarked it but I hadn’t. I have now!!!

  2. September 13, 2010 19:29

    The colors in this are amazing. I think the family would really like this. I know I would! I believe this will be dinner tomorrow! :)

  3. September 9, 2010 21:40

    I’m gonna try this one. It look tasty and its simple. Nice clean flavors.

    • September 9, 2010 22:27

      Thank you for stopping by for the recipe. It is delicious to me and I hope for you.

Trackbacks

  1. Spinach Pappardelle with Bacon and Tomatoes « "Deja Vu" Cook
  2. Celebrate National Pasta Month in October 2011 « "Deja Vu" Cook
  3. Spaghetti with Roasted Tomatoes, Garlic and Pancetta « "Deja Vu" Cook
  4. BLT Pasta «
  5. BLT Pasta

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

