Skip to content

Rice Pudding

June 7, 2010

 

When I moved back to South Florida I was amazed that every grocery store I was in had rice pudding for sale.  I had not thought of it or eaten in a hundred years.  But of course every time I saw in a store, I bought it.  I ate it for dessert, I ate it for a snack and I ate it for breakfast.  It dawned on me one day I might make it myself and have it any day of the week, not just on shopping day.  Brilliant!  I must admit I never have wasted any leftover rice again and I usually make sure there will be extra rice for the following day’s dessert.  A small amount of this rich and creamy dessert will satisfy the dessert “Monster” in you.

Rice Pudding

Ingredients

  •  2 C. Cooked Rice
  • 2 C. Milk
  • 1 C. Heavy Cream
  • 1/2 C. Sugar
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 t. Vanilla
  • 1 T. Cinnamon (ground)
  • 1 t. Nutmeg (ground)
  • Maraschino cherries (for Garnish)

Preparation

  1. Heat cooked rice, milk, heavy cream, sugar and salt in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil, lower the heat and simmer while stirring n the vanilla.
  2. Cook until almost all of the milk is absorbed (about 30 minutes)
  3. Stir in the cinnamon and nutmeg
  4. Put into individual serving dishes (may be served warm at this time)
  5. Chill
  6. Sprinkle individual servings with additional cinnamon and top with a cherry

  

(Serves 4-6)

Adapted from Slashfood

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 23:45

    Rice pudding looks great. I love the recipe, it sounds really yummy. I can’t wait to make try it.

Trackbacks

  1. Cinco de Mayo Fiesta Menu « "Deja Vu" Cook
  2. Cinco de Mayo Fiesta Menu « "Deja Vu" Cook

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

